If You're Involved In A Collision, By Law You Must
A number of things may be running through your mind at the time of the accident; however, if you are in Florida at the time of the accident, there are things you must do after a crash occurs.
- Stay at the Scene
- Notify Law Enforcement
- Cooperate With Law Enforcement
Accidents are a common occurrence in Florida and throughout the rest of the country. Depending on the severity of the accident, dealing with the after-effects of the incident can be a tough task, especially if you and/or your passengers sustain injuries.
Stay at the Scene
Do not leave the scene of a collision. Individuals who are involved in an automobile accident must be sure to exchange information with the parties involved in the incident. Additionally, depending on the severity of the accident, you should move your vehicle to a location that does not impede traffic. Please note, however, if you or anyone else involved in the collision are injured, you are advised to seek medical attention right away.
Notify Law Enforcement
Auto accidents that involve property damage over $500 OR injuries must be reported to law enforcement. If you are unable to call, you should ensure that someone else notifies the sheriff, local police or the Florida Highway Patrol so that a traffic accident report can be made. Whenever an officer investigates a collision, he or she typically files a report; however, if an officer does not complete an accident report, you will need to do so and file it within 10 days of the accident.
Cooperate With Law Enforcement
Under the law, once law enforcement arrives at the scene, you must respond to their inquiries about the accident. Additionally, if the officer issues you a ticket for the accident, you must sign the ticket – if you don’t, you might be arrested.
File a PIP Claim
Drivers who live in Florida are required to use their own personal injury protection insurance (also known as PIP coverage or no-fault insurance). This is true even if the other driver is at fault in causing the crash. Such coverage can be used to pay for your lost wages, as well as your medical bills. It is also important to note that you must seek medical attention within 14 days of the incident.
Things You Should NOT Do After an Accident
Besides responding to an officer’s questions at the scene, you should not provide any statements to anyone else. Even when answering the officer’s questions, be sure to only answer the questions asked – do not volunteer additional information.
You are also encouraged not to post anything about your accident on social media. As tempting as it may be, doing so could ultimately harm your case or claim.
Additionally, you should NEVER admit fault for the accident to anyone. Your best course of action is to seek the services of a law firm who employs skilled, knowledgeable Naples auto accident attorneys who will work hard to ensure your rights are protected.
If you have been injured in an auto accident and you have concerns about your claim or case, contact Attorney Ryan Kuhl today.